top of page
  • Writer's pictureMidas

There's Art, Then there's GAWD...Pt. 1

A quick dive into GAWD for a little bit...straight from me.

What we talking about?

1. T.O

2. Young Freestyle

3. Robin

4. Gawdbody

5. Alright

6. Westfield

7. Niggas Still...

8. ...OddiSee

9. JAYN

10. No Cap

11. YoungFreestyle 2

12. Far Out


 

T.O.

"GRINDING PLUS TIMING..."

I wrote this track with a certain attitude, I felt I was owed respect, loyalty, money, and in me feeling that way I had to make some moves where in the midst of all of it, I missed out on some of the things and people I hold dearest to me, but that doesn't mean it stops here...


Young Freestyle Pt. 1

"2 CUPS KEEP THE ICE LOW, GRAVEYARD, I ONLY COME OUT WHEN THE LIGHTS LOW DAD HAT KEEP MY EYES LOW, THORS BROTHER WITH THE VIBES HOE, I ONLY COME OUT FOR THE NIGHT SHOWS"

This Giveon sample gave me chills and I needed to have it, it was a real playful mood but needed to connect with the listeners about how real shit can actually get.


Robin (Robbin')

"CUZ NIGGAS BEEN SAYIN THAT 'JAY YOU AINT DOING ENOUGH'"

This is just heavy on the ignorance. But great on the vision and trials. I rap, too theres that.


Favorite line: I'm Cujo mixed wit Kool Moe, I'm just a DOG, I need my kudos, I can't be psudo'd, I can't be copied, original, keep the physicals, KNOW YA BODY"....


"Fab Five There aint no time for that" Shoutout Chris Webber



GAWDBODY

"I WAS GIVIN PEOPLE ROPE SO THEY CAN HANG ME WITH..."

The name sake. Not the best approach to cutting ties but dam near...

Thought behind this: I'm gonna rap heavily to ya, cuz thats what I like and if theres anything you should take from this song its this, I'm gonna make it. I used a scene from Goodfellas where Tommy (Joe Pesci) was recalling a story and Henry (Ray Liotta) said that he was funny, which Tommy thought he was calling him a clown...

Basically, I'm a cool guy but don't play with me, respect, I take "mine" serious.


Alright

"SULLY SAID I WOULDN'T MAKE IT TO MY GRAD DAY"

I woke up one day and remebered that I was told I wasn't gonna graduate, that was years ago and who knows if that was to motivate me or break my spirit, but this is ya tape lmao. You can never go wrong with a Bob Marley flip and some bars. A trip from the stoop to high school and beyond.

Interviewer: Do you think the Rastafarians are involved in the violence going on here?


Bob: Rasta's is involved in progress...



Westfield

"WOKE UP AS A BRAND NEW NIGGA"

If Brent Faiyaz hit me (which he didn't) and said yo, lets make a classic bro (which he also didn't). The Vibe switch of the whole album, AND I GUARANDAMTEE Issa bop. Tell Brent too.

CLICK THE PHOTO TO LISTEN


Niggas Still

Message from a dreamer.

"what if I said I had dreams of being better than the rest"


Oddisee

Times dealing with women and the various types and the difference in what type of man I was and what I wanted at a time. This is the society we live in though


NIGGAS STILL ODD, I SEE.
 

JAYN (feat. Omar I$lord)

"Just a Young Nigga in my City"

Self explanatory. I asked the homie Omar I$Lord to add some sauce to the track. We came together and created a dope vibe, authentic party feel, just happiness all around.


No Cap

Cap meaning lies...No Cap meaning, well ya get it. There aint a lie here from start to finish.

"I seen zombies and unicorns in the same crossing, so every stage I feel bowser bitch I'm still bossin'..."
Literally translates to: I've seen dead bodies & victims of substance abuse in the same settings that I see your favorite celebrities in, but its just a another day keep on doing what you doing, this is routine"

Young Freestyle Pt. 2

"Word to Romie Rome, I've seen more titans than colliseums..."
Translation: I've seen more fights than venues.

Part One showed a side of me where it was like "okay, its okay to feel pain". Part 2 doesn't have that pain factor in it, its a come up story, being where I'm from, not many people get a chance to make an impact or make any move too put themselves in a better position, this is embracing the process.

Added a piece from a recent Dave Chappelle special "8:46"...I think that excerpt makes it very easy to see what I understood: There's other people going through it too, you're not alone, but if you make it out, thats the only goal you should be going for...



Far Out

"YOUNG SKYWALKER I COULDNT AFFORD TO FORCE SHIT...MADE ME A MADE MAN..."

A conversation, wrapping up this whole experience till now, just knowing that Everything is Everything (shout out miss Lauryn Hill) you power through it, you learn from it and you pass on the knowledge. Take everything in stride, can't rush anything...shoutout hizelle4prez for the vibes.


Just keep GRINDING and make sure that your TIMING is right.


SHOUT OUT TO YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND I CANT WAIT TILL NEXT TIME


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sometimes You Win...But When You Don't You Do

By this time I hope you got a chance to check out the rest of my website and heard GAWD already. If you did, thank you and I appreciate you! If you haven't click here to stream/download GAWD Why the K

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
  • Spotify Social Icon
bottom of page